Extra Life 2014: Help me for the big day on October 25

Extra Life Logo_Blue

Once a year, I deprive myself of sleep to do one thing — help sick kids at Doernbecher Children’s Hospital. How do I do this, you ask? By playing videogames for 24 hours straight. (Last year, it was 25 hours.)

Extra Life began after the untimely death of Victoria Enmon due to acute lymphoblastic leukemia in January of 2008. When I first heard about this charity, I thought that it was a great way to do something I love and help people that I have no connection to. But, as I continued to promote the cause each year, I’ve found out that I have a closer connection to it than I thought.

I’ve had family lose loved ones at the hospital in the past, and I don’t think I ever would’ve realized that if it wasn’t for this charity. When I went to the first Extra Life Portland guild meeting about 4-6 months ago, the stories I heard about why people participate would make some people cry. Doernbecher was finally working to get people more involved and organized, which I found refreshing considering we raised so much money for the hospital last year. With the help of everyone involved, we’re getting even more people involved at Rose City Comic Con and the Retro Game Expo.

This is where your help comes in to play. I can’t do this without you. Each year, my goal gets a little higher than the year before. This year, my goal is $400. I plan on streaming my play session along with doing a lot of fun stuff on social media. Basically, I want to make sure that if you’re sponsoring me, you get as much entertainment from me as I can offer.

So, I ask you, can you please sponsor me for Extra Life 2014? People are encouraged to donate a dollar per hour for each hour I play, but I appreciated any donation, even if it’s $5.

Do you have any other ideas for ways that I can entertain you and get more donations? Please let me know!

One response to “Extra Life 2014: Help me for the big day on October 25

  1. Pingback: APV Supports Extra Life Charity - A Pixelated ViewA Pixelated View

Leave a Reply

