Beginning Another Chapter

It’s hard not to start this post off with some cliché phrase like “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop to look around once in a while, you’ll miss it.” But, for some reason, I can’t think of another apt way to begin, so I’m just going to roll with it. Life moved pretty fast over this last week when I got the news of my first career layoff.

I’ve had jobs end in the past, which I suppose is sort of like being laid off, but I’ve never actually been laid off. There’s a bittersweet feeling to know that although your employer can’t continue to employ you, they valued your work and your presence.

So, I’m back at the job search grind with the ever looming presence of debt hanging over my head. I knew right away that there was no time to be angry. No time to be bummed. No time to vent frustrations. I’ve had bigger disappointments and worse news in my life. The one way I knew how to react was this: Be proactive and be positive.

And that’s what I did – I was proactive and positive. The outpouring of support has been monumental. Friends and family have come to my aid and I can’t thank them enough. As I continue my journey on the career path I’ve chosen, I’ll never forget the people who have helped shape me. You all have a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

