Me and My Local Library

Photo courtesy of restlesslibrarians.com

Entryway to your imagination

Lately, I’ve been re-visiting one of my favorite places that opens up my imagination – my local library. There was a period of years during college where I was so busy; I had absolutely no time to do any sort of extracurricular reading. When I did have the time, reading was the last thing I wanted to do, especially during a full year of taking 17 credits a term. However, with the Multnomah County Library only a short 15 minutes walking distance away, I’ve begun to frequent it more and more.

Audiobooks and graphic novels have become an obsession of mine. When I was growing up, I used to read comics all of the time. I think it was because I grew up poor and it was easy to buy a comic for $2.99 than other means of entertainment. As an only child, cheap entertainment like comic books and renting video games were almost the only means of not dying of boredom (which I wholly believed was possible back then.)

The audiobooks that have been my new obsession as of late have been spread between The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan and A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. At first I felt like a sellout by listening to the audiobooks instead of reading them, but it’s nice to listen to them while walking places or while I’m working.

The graphic novels I’ve been reading have mostly been recommended from a great Paste article. So far, I’ve read Joker, Wildcats 3.0 Year One, Wolverine: Old Man Logan and Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life V. 1. I could go into a whole other blog post about these books, but needless to say, these were all worth reading. I already have five more books sitting next to me that I’m looking forward to reading including Sweet Tooth, The Ultimates, Batman: The Killing Joke, Locke & Key V. 2 and Absolute Planetary.

There’s not much more convenient than putting items on hold that you really want to read and just going in to the library, picking them up and leaving. It’s basically free entertainment that we pay with our tax dollars and I highly recommend you take advantage of your own local library.

Leave a Reply

